MINUTES OF THE MEETING OF THE PRESIDENT AND BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE VILLAGE OF SOUTH HOLLAND, ILLINOIS, COUNTY OF COOK HELD ON April 16, 2018 8:00 P.M.

Administrative Staff Present: Mr. Shawn Staples, Police Chief; Mr. Bryant Krizik, representing Mr. Brian Kolosh, Fire Chief; Mr. Frank Knittle, Director Community Development; Mr. Ed Stewart, Director Recreational Services; Mr. George Gunkel, Director Public Works; Mr. J. Johnson, Director Public Works; Mr. Tim Lapp, Village Attorney; Mr. John Hilsen, Village Engineer; Ms. Pat Mahon, Deputy Village Administrator; Ms. Mary Ann Thornton, Director Public Relations and Marketing; Ms. Beth Herman, Village Treasurer

Absent: Mr. Brian Kolosh, Fire Chief; Mr. J Wynsma, Village Administrator; Mr. John Watson, Director of Economic Development

President De Graff called the meeting to order and Clerk Penman called the roll.

Present: Trustees Larry De Young, Vickie Perkins, Cindy Nylen, John Russell and Andrew Johnson

Absent with Notice: Trustee Prince Reed

Pastor Matt Waterstone from First Reformed Church opened our meeting with prayer. President De Graff thanked Pastor Waterstone.

Minutes

Trustee Nylen moved that the reading of the **Minutes of the March 19, 2018** meeting be dispensed with, copies thereof having been distributed to each trustee, and the **Minutes** as presented be approved. Trustee Perkins seconded the motion.

Roll Call: Ayes: Trustees Nylen, Perkins, De Young, Russell and Johnson

Nays: None

Motion carried, approved and so ordered by President Don A. De Graff

Resident Comments

There were no residents with questions or comments this evening.

Engineer's Report

Mr. Hilsen had one item this evening, an **Intergovernmental Agreement – Southland Water Commission Study Group**. Trustee Russell moved to approve the **Agreement** as presented. Trustee De Young seconded the motion.

Roll Call: Ayes: Trustees Russell, De Young, Perkins, Nylen and Johnson

Nays: None

Motion carried, approved and so ordered by President Don A. De Graff

Mr. Hilsen also shared that the contract for the 161st Place water main replacement has gone out for bid.

Attorney's Report

Mr. Lapp had two items this evening. The first item was a **Resolution authorizing a short term License** Agreement on Zone A property – 1500 E. 162nd Street. Trustee De Young moved to approve the **Resolution** as presented. Trustee Nylen seconded the motion.

Roll Call: Ayes: Trustees De Young, Nylen, Perkins, Russell and Johnson

Nays: None

Motion carried, approved and so ordered by President Don A. De Graff

The second item was a **Resolution to transfer funds** to meet our budget obligations. Trustee Russell moved to approve the **Resolution** as presented. Trustee Johnson seconded the motion.

Roll Call: Ayes: Trustees Russell, Johnson, De Young, Perkins, and Nylen

Nays: None

Motion carried, approved and so ordered by President Don A. De Graff

Community Development

Trustee De Young moved for approval of **Building Permits Nos. 17-1133, 17-1196, 17-1329, 18-0077, 18-0078, 18-0135 through 18-0193 as presented, representing a value of approximately \$359,000 in community investments.** Trustee Perkins seconded the motion.

Page 2

4/16/2018 President and Board of Trust

Among these permits, Trustee De Young highlighted the following: \$5,000 – building addition for Splish Splash; \$5,100 - interior remodel for Pacesetter Plaza new tenant; \$19,000 – signage for Old Plank Community Bank; \$2,200 – signage for Santefort Enterprises; \$3,000 – lawn sprinkler for Andy Grill Vincennes.

Roll Call: Ayes: Trustees De Young, Perkins, Nylen, Russell and Johnson

Nays: None

Motion carried, approved and so ordered by President Don A. De Graff

Trustee De Young moved for approval of **Building Permits Nos. 18-0125, 18-0134, 18-0194 through 18-0253 as presented, representing a value of approximately \$609,000 in community investments.** Trustee Perkins seconded the motion.

Among these permits, Trustee De Young highlighted the following: \$9,000 – fire sprinkler for Illinois Tollway Oasis; \$63,000 - interior remodel for U.S. Bank; \$44,000 – driveway for Extra Space Storage; \$35,000 – electrical work and new windows for South Holland Motel 172& Halsted.

Roll Call: Ayes: Trustees De Young, Perkins, Nylen, Russell and Johnson

Nays: None

Motion carried, approved and so ordered by President Don A. De Graff

Parks and Recreation

Trustee Perkins had no report this evening.

Community Coordination

Trustee Nylen had no report this evening.

Finance

Trustee Russell moved for **Approval of payments of vouchers as listed on Registers No. 945, 946 and 947 for \$2,764,789.76** covering day-to-day operations, vendor payments and salaries. Trustee De Young seconded the motion.

Roll Call: Ayes: Trustees Russell, De Young, Perkins, Nylen and Johnson

Nays: None

Motion carried, approved and so ordered by President Don A. De Graff

Trustee Russell took a moment to thank everyone who has worked so hard on the budget.

Public Safety

Trustee Johnson had no report this evening.

Public Works

In Trustee Reed's absence, Trustee Perkins reported that as of April 2nd, branch pickup has resumed and is scheduled the day after garbage day. Also, special pickups will be done every Friday but needs to be requested by calling Public Works at 708-339-2323.

Yard waste toters will again be used for yard waste only, through the summer and fall.

Street Sweeper is currently out cleaning public streets after a long winter.

Lastly, baseball season has begun at all South Holland Parks. Employees have been working diligent in preparing and maintaining ballfields to our utmost standards.

President De Graff asked if there were any additional business.

There being no additional business to come before the President and Board of Trustees, Trustee Nylen moved that this meeting adjourn. Trustee De Young seconded the motion. Ayes all on the roll. Meeting adjourned. Next regular meeting of the President and the Board of Trustees will be held on Monday, May 7, 2018, at 8:00 PM, in the Council Room of the Municipal Building, County of Cook, South Holland, Illinois.

Approved by:

Sallie D. Penman, Clerk

President